« Return to Home

Sophia Chatakondu

About Me

Name:Sophia Chatakondu
D.O.B.:9 April 1999
Languages Spoken: English
Resorts I can work in: 3 Valleys
CRB Check:01 Dec 2021

Experience & Qualifications


I have never had a job that doesn’t involve working face to face with other people because I thrive off socialising and building strong relationships. As well as working in education, I have experience in hospitality as a catering assistant in a hospital and as front of house staff in a hotel-pub. I have grown up with a younger sister, younger cousins and younger neighbours so I have plenty of experience looking after and entertaining children. I strongly empathise with kids’ need to exert energy which is why I like to spend my days skiing, snowboarding, surfing, going on runs and practising karate. I’ve loved my jobs in childcare and education but I don’t want Covid to be the reason that I never pursue my dream of doing a ski season. Therefore, I would love to combine my career and leisurely pursuits as a nanny in the Alps this winter.

I attended Guildford High School and graduated from the University of Exeter in 2020 with a 2:1 honours degree in Classics and English. In May 2019, I completed a paediatric first aid course. I have an up to date DBS which is renewed annually. Whilst working at a school with special educational needs children, I was trained in safeguarding, GDPR and completed a tutor training course.

In my final year of university, I had accepted a job as a nanny in a holiday resort over the summer. Unfortunately, this was cancelled due to Covid so I nannied and tutored a four and a six-year-old in the UK. This included cooking meals, cleaning the house, helping with online school and taking them to tennis & dance lessons. In February 2021, I became a teaching assistant for special educational needs students at a secondary school (11-16 year olds) in London. My primary role was to support learning in English lessons but a large part of my job included pastoral welfare. When supply teachers didn’t turn up to lessons, I was often solely responsible for over 20 students at a time and I would sometimes teach the lesson if necessary. I accompanied several school trips where I would be given a small group of students to look after – I even helped escort over 60 twelve-year-olds from Greenwich to the Globe Theatre! Whilst working at the school, I completed a formal tutor training course.

My References

Reference Received from: Vanessa Traynor


"Whilst working as an EA as part of the English Department at Thomas Tallis School, Sophia developed positive working relationships with both staff and students. Sophia is a proactive, conscientious and highly organised individual and whilst at Tallis she completed all tasks required of her to a good standard and met any deadlines given. When working with students, Sophia provided effective support: she was always calm, fair and maintained high expectations of our students, adapting support strategies accordingly depending on the specific needs of the students she was supporting. We would recommend Sophia for employment; she is reliable, adaptable and patient and is well suited to working with young people."
Reference Received from: Iona Moore


"Sophia was a huge help to us during the covid lock down as both my husband and I were working. She was extremely reliable and provided my two girls (aged 4 and 6) with care for 3 days a week. This included overseeing their homeschooling and keeping them entertained. Importantly both children thought she was great fun to be with and looked forward to her coming to us. I would highly recommend her. "