« Return to Home

Sofie Appelkvist

About Me

Name:Sofie Appelkvist
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:23 October 1994
Languages Spoken: English
German
Resorts I can work in: Chamonix
CRB Check:01 Feb 2018

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

I am 23 years old, originally from Sweden, but have lived abroad my entire life. Throughout my childhood, I lived in Germany, Argentina, Switzerland, and the United States, and I speak English, Swedish, and Spanish fluently and German at an intermediate level. I recently graduated from the University of Virginia, and am currently taking a year off my studies to pursue my life long dream of being a 'ski bum', followed by backpacking through Southeast Asia, before returning to my studies and pursuing a Master's degree in Economics. I have spent the past 6 months working full-time for EF Education First in Zurich, Switzerland, and am excited to be starting my new adventure in Chamonix! I grew up skiing in the Alps and skiing is a big passion of mine. In my free time I also love to cook and bake for my friends and family.
Qualifications:

I graduated from the University of Virginia in the United States in May 2017. I completed two Bachelor's degrees in Economics and Spanish. While at the University of Virginia, I was also elected women's ski captain for our alpine ski team, responsible for coaching a team of over 60 racers. I attended high school in Zurich, Switzerland, where I gained experience in child care, babysitting nearly every weekend for various families, as well as tutoring in Math and Spanish. I have completed an online pediatric first aid certification and have had a French criminal background check.
Experience:

I have extensive child care experience with both older and younger children, ranging from 3 months to 10 years old. I frequently babysat for three families throughout high school, one with three children aged 4, 2, and 6 months, one with slightly older children, aged 9, 6, and 5 years old, and one family with a son who was 1 year old. Most often, I would care for the children during the evenings, being responsible for a few hours after dinner and putting them to bed. The most number of children I have been responsible for at one time was 5, when one of the families I often cared for also had two friends over for a sleepover.

My References

Reference Received from: Muge Suardet

Reference:

"Sofie was absolutely lovely with our three and a half month old daughter. She was calm, confident and relaxed. It was the first time that we were leaving our daughter with a babysitter. Our daughter immediately took a liking to her and I could tell that she was happy in Sofie’s arms. She followed our instructions to the letter and was reassuring along the way. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Sofie to take care of children of all ages.

Muge Suardet
Chamonix
February 2018
"
Reference Received from: Minty Curci

Reference:

"Sofie was a fantastic babysitter for our two boys during our stay in Chamonix, she was punctual, professional but charming and very able when it came to caring for the kids who warmed to her immediately. If we returned to the area, I wouldnt hesitate in getting in touch with Sofie again to assist in our childcare needs.

Minty Curci
Chamonix January 2017
"
Reference Received from: Tara Jacobsen-Grimaitre

Reference:

"Sofie looked after my son on a regular basis for 2 years. I would
highly recommend Sofie as she always finds great activities to do with the children and furthermore she is responsible, reliable and courteous.
Tara Rose
0041788351145
"