« Return to Home

Shelby Nater

About Me

Name:Shelby Nater
D.O.B.:13 November 1993
Languages Spoken: English
Resorts I can work in: Espace Killy
CRB Check:01 Jan 2002

Experience & Qualifications


Besides working with children, I have many hobbies and interests, and my biggest problem in life is probably that I want to try everything! I love running and all types of fitness, and especially enjoy dancing, rock climbing, and aerial fitness (which is basically dancing and climbing mixed together.) This year, I've begun to learn to surf, and can't wait to learn to ski this winter (I've only been a few times, and am still a beginner!)

I also enjoy writing, and one of my goals is to become a published novelist. I'm passionate about history, and I'd love to write historical fiction that helps people appreciate and understand the rich historical past of the places in which they live and travel.

My favorite activities to do with kids include dancing, sports, arts and crafts, and attending events/exploring cities. I also have a big bag of games and art projects, so we'll never get bored!

Greetings, parents and guardians!

My name is Shelby, and I'm originally from Orlando, Florida. After studying politics, economics, and Chinese at Boston University, and spending 8 months at Fudan University studying Chinese and teaching English, I moved to Vienna, Austria. I've worked here as a learning support teacher for 2.5 years, and I'm starting graduate school next summer, where I'll begin working towards a Master of Education, and a Master of International Politics.

I absolutely adore children, and am passionate about helping them learn. I also hope to use my passion for international politics to one day help improve education on a global scale.

I decided I'd like to spend this year on a few "bucket list" personal goals, including working at a surf camp in Costa Rica this fall, working a ski season as a nanny in France, and walking the Camino in Spain during the spring.

Besides working at the school in Vienna, I've also au paired, babysat, and (by winter 2019) will have worked two summers at camps (so it takes a lot for children to wear me down!) I worked as a camp counselor in 2018 at Camp California in Croatia, and this summer I'll work as an English teacher and activities instructor at Surval School for Girls in Montreux, Switzerland.

I can't wait to meet your children, and help make this vacation an experience they'll never forget!

I have taught children ages 7-12 for the past 2.5 years at an international school in Vienna, Austria.

I've also coached cross country and track teams for ages 12-18, and chaperoned a service trip to Romania with children ages 14-18. Additionally, I have spent the past two years coaching a running club and empowerment group aimed at primary school girls ages 8-11.

Besides my teaching and coaching experience, I spent four months au pairing for children aged 1, 6, 9, and 11, and I spent my high school years babysitting for children anywhere from 1-12 years old.

I have 22 girls ages 8-11 in the running club I chaperone after school, so this is the most children I've been responsible for by myself at one point.

My References

Alpine Child Care are currently verifying this reference.