« Return to Home

Poppy Stanley

About Me

Name:Poppy Stanley
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:29 July 1998
Languages Spoken: English
Resorts I can work in: Espace Killy
CRB Check:01 Aug 2016

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

I consider myself an approachable and amicable person, with the ability to mix well with different colleagues and clients, especially with young children. I am calm and conscientious under pressure and am able to take the initiative when necessary. My extensive experience in outdoor adventure activities has given me a passion for travel, nature and creative learning. These qualities are something I apply in engaging young children to explore and learn through play.

I am an adventurous person who loves the outdoors, I’m at my happiest when out snowboarding in the mountains or sailing on a breezy day. In a calmer mood I love long walks in nature, sketching or painting and practicing yoga. I love the joyousness of young children and particularly enjoy caring for them in ski resorts as there's so much to do. Not only Is there sledging, swimming, iceskating and general snow play but also a warm kids activity playroom with tons of arts and crafts activities and of course I also have lots of fun games to play in the chalet! I can't wait to meet you and your children and help them have the best time possible in the snow!
Qualifications:

DBS Checked
First Aid Qualified
Safe- Guarding Qualified
Full clean driving licence
Nationally: British
Languages: English, Portuguese



Education

UKSA/ IOW College Sept 2015- May 2017
-- NCFE Level 3 Certificate in Sport Outdoor Activity
-- GCSE Math. English and English Language
-- NCFE Level 2 Diploma in Sport Outdoor Activity
VarzeaDaGoncala, Algarve, Portugal February 2013
-- Diploma in Permaculture and Self-Sustainable Design
Experience:

As the eldest in a large family caring for young children has always been a part of my life. I now have extensive experience not only as a ski resort private nanny but also as a live - in Au-pair and in managing my own creche service. I have looked after babies as young as three months and provided pastoral and overnight care for large groups of children up to 17 years old. I am now happy to take up to four children between 2 years and 17 years or two children under two years old.


Work Experience

April 2018 - Present, South Coast, UK Freelance Watersports Instructor
Worked for various Watersports centres and Sailing Clubs over the South Coast teaching adults and children of all ages. Job length ranged from a few days to a few weeks. Taught mainly sailing and windsurfing but also kayaking, paddle boarding, swimming and archery. I had to be very organised and good at communication, I enjoyed the travel and new experiences of working for various companies in new areas.

Jan - April 2017/18 - T4 Nanny, France Ski Resort Based Private Nanny
As a resort based nanny I cared for a wide range of children over the season. My duties included ski school collection and drop off, preparing meals, tidying and cleaning up after the children and general care. I worked mainly in Meribel but also travelled to work in Courchevel, Bourg- Saint- Maurice and La Plagne.

Sept- Dec 2017 - Aveiro, Portugal Live- In Au-pair and Housekeeper
As a live in housekeeper I assisted with all household chores including cleaning, looking after the children, and preparing meals. I ran errands such as grocery shopping and had to be punctual and work well under my own supervision to get things done efficiently.

Aug -Sept 2017, Central Portugal Event Crèche and Playgroup Leader
Organised and provided a Childcare service for various events in the area. I would have an assistant with me and we would usually have groups of between 7- 20 children aged from 5
months to 5 years. We would include a few hours of active/outdoors games and activities with breaks for snacks before a meal (dinner or lunch) and then quiet time with creative time or a story before bedtime.

April- July 2017, UKSA Evening Activity Instructor and Overnight Leader
Responsible for pastoral care of the residential children with one other instructor. This included handovers in the morning and afternoon with the daytime instructors, supervising mealtimes, planning and delivering an evening activity program. Worked on call overnight. I also undertook administrative tasks such as medical, safeguarding and accident/ near miss report forms. We had up to 30 children assigned to us, ages ranged from 5 to 16 year olds.

8th - 16th Oct 2016 Calshot Activity Centre and ISurf Work Experience
As part of my course I spent six days at Calshot and ISurf to learn how other centres run, how their safety issues are dealt with, etc. I assisted with a range of sessions including sailing, climbing, indoor skiing, and archery, amongst others. At Isurf I learnt how to teach beginner surf lessons. This included assisting the instructors to deliver a session to groups of students with specific learning difficulties, on a one to one basis.

Summers 2016/17, UKSA Seasonal Watersports Instructor
Taught sports such as sailing and paddle-boarding but also ran filler and warm up games and land activities such as treasure hunts. Supervised lunch and parent handovers, working with all ages of children. Necessary skills included good teamwork and adaptability if the weather or kit availability meant we had to change our session plans.

My References

Reference Received from: Ellie Simon

Reference:

"Poppy Stanley worked for the t4 Private Nanny Service in Meribel from January to April 2018.

Poppy is a cheerful, experienced and fun nanny who takes pride in her work. During the season she was responsible for caring for children and babies aged 3 months to 12 years.

I would highly recommend Poppy and would happily work with her again in future.

Please do let me know if you need anything else from me.

Kindest regards,
Ellie Simon
(Former Manager of t4 Private Nanny Service)
"