« Return to Home

Martine Deinum

About Me

Name:Martine Deinum
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:8 July 1992
Languages Spoken: English
Dutch
German
Resorts I can work in: 4 Valleys
CRB Check:01 Dec 2018

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

Hello!

I came to Verbier/Le Chable from Canada in June for a 3-month internship with an environmental lawyer. 4 months later, I found myself settled into my own apartment in Le Chable, head over heels with the mountains and the people. While waiting for a Swedish Master's program to start in September 2020, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to live and work in this incredible region (and hopefully learn to ski!).

As a mum myself to a wildly adventurous 5 year old, my interests and hobbies have grown to mirror his (and vice-versa)! We love hiking, trail running, building LEGO, swimming, reading, and tobogganing. I'm an avid environmentalist and strive for zero-waste living. Dax goes to school/creche here and enjoys correcting my French.
Qualifications:

I have taken the equivalent of a one-year teaching certification and hold a degree in international business. I am registered to complete my first aid certification in November.
Experience:

I have worked as a nanny and au pair for over 8 years. I was a full-time live-in au pair for 14 months to a family with a 7 month old and a 19 month old, a part-time live-out nanny for 10 months to a family with kids aged 7, 5, and 1, and spent 5 months as a live-in nanny to a curious little 1 year old. I have worked longer-term for many other families and have babysat numerous children ranging from ages 0-12.

In terms of group settings, I have coached basketball to large groups of 8-17 year olds, both in team and camp settings. I have also participated in multiple practicums through my teaching education, woking in both kindergarten and grade 5 classrooms.

The most children I have been in charge of while nannying and babysitting is 5, although through coaching I have been in charge of groups of 20-30 children.

My References

Reference Received from: Catherine St. Jean

Reference:

"Martine was my nanny for 10 months, she looked after my children ages 7,4 & 1. We live in the country with 2 dogs, Martine would prep breakfast, lunch and supper, always healthy! She would take them to activities and clean the house if needed. She started her employment in March 2018. Martine is amazing, she is reliable, trustworthy and honest and has a positive attitude. My 1 year old daughter would scream with job when she saw her, she became part of the family and she is missed. She is calm and relaxed but she gets what she needs to get done done! She never put the children down for a mistake but instead would let them learn from it, her true interests are what is best for the children both physically and emotionally. I would whole heartedly recommend Martine.
Catherine St Jean
"