« Return to Home

Lucy Edwards

About Me

Name:Lucy Edwards
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:10 May 1991
Languages Spoken: English
Resorts I can work in: 3 Valleys
CRB Check:01 Sep 2018

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

Hi! My name is Lucy. I am a warm, friendly and approachable person. I grew up in a small country village in Mid-Wales. After completing my A-Levels, I decided to explore the world outside of Mid-Wales, and planned to travel Australia for a year. My favourite place was Sydney, which I loved so much, I ended up staying for seven years! This was an exciting time for me, as I was given so many opportunities.

I learned a lot about myself overseas and after a couple of jobs here and there, I realised I needed to be working in a job that I loved, which brought me to childcare. I was very lucky to start full-time work with a beautiful family in Sydney, where I was the sole carer for four amazing children, with them all being under the age of 6 at the time, safe to say I had my hands full and I loved every minute. I love being creative and encouraging children to use their imaginations. This job has given me the tools to be a great nanny, it was extremely hard work which took a lot of tolerance and patience, but the rewards are endless. I even got the pleasure of nannying part-time for another wonderful family at the same time, who were the neighbours and very good friends of the family.

I adored my job and after seven wonderful years in Aus, and then meeting my partner who is a ski instructor in the beautiful three valleys, we decided on doing a ski season together, and what better place to pursue my love of working with children than in the snow! I am truly looking forward to this season with all the fun and memories it will bring.

I have many years of experience with children from newborns to teenagers. Being the oldest of four girls, I have always helped my mother growing up, and when I was just 15 I was lucky enough to be my mother’s birth partner for my youngest sister. Working as a nanny felt like a natural step for me.

I have an enhanced DBS check, hold a valid paediatric first-aid certificate and am fully insured. In my spare time, I enjoy lots of walking, the occasional bike ride, yoga. I enjoy skiing although I love the beach and am keen on everything outdoors. I love catching up with friends and going for dinner with my partner. I am very creative and love everything to do with art. I am also a skilled makeup artist which I love to do on friends from time to time. I love all animals (especially my family dog Frank, who is the cutest thing you’ll ever see) and that pretty much sums me up.
Qualifications:

Paediatric First aid.
DBS check.
Experience:

Nursery Assistant Brookfield Day Nursery Aug 2018 - Dec 2018
Looking after children in a classroom environment from ages 5 months - age 4.

o I floated each day between different classrooms, from baby room all the way to pre-school, usually from 10 to 25 children per room.
o Throughout the day I’d be working with 2 to 3 other colleagues with a ratio of 4:1 child and staff,
o Nappy changing, potty training,
o Breakfast/lunch/dinner/snack time, would be provided by the kitchen staff, I would help and assist children with each meal,
o Outside play, to encourage exercise to strengthen muscles, aid fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination,
o Singing and dancing/music and movement, to help body and mind work together. Helping children with social interaction and language growth,
o Creative and messy play including drawing, painting, cutting to develop manual skills,
o Imaginative and creative play to encourage children to grow emotionally, socially and physically.

Cleary Family (Full Time) looking after four children ages 0, 2, 4 and 6 - 2015-2018
Southwell-Keely Family (Part Time) looking after one child aged 2 - 2015-2018

o Morning routine before school, including preparing breakfast and lunchboxes;
o School drop-off/ pick-up;
o Organising playdates;
o Preparing healthy meals;
o After school routine, consisting of play time, making dinner, bath and bedtime stories;
o Making sure all out of school activities are attended which include, swimming, piano, gymnastics, girl guides and soccer. The two oldest girls also have chess, and French;
o Summer holiday activities which I will organise, would include a lot of beach days, swimming, museum and library visits as well as any school holiday programs such as tennis and art;
o We have a lot of creative play including craft, painting, puzzles, card games, imaginative play, dressing up, story writing, baking and exploring.

Key Skills
o Good communication skills with young children and families
o Organisational and time management skills
o Ability to work very well under stressful and high-pressure situations
o Able to develop activities to stimulate children
o Establish routines for the family’s wellbeing
o Working with newborn’s
o Providing developmentally appropriate educational games
o Assisting with language acquisition and development
o Assisting children with the activities of daily living
o Bathing and dressing children
o Helping children with general hygiene
o Organizing sports and other motor-skill activities
o Hard working, positive, reliable, loyal and trustworthy.

My References

Reference Received from: Amber Cleary

Reference:

"I am writing to you to provide a reference for Lucy Edwards. She comes with my highest recommendations.

Lucy started working for us in Paddington, Sydney, Australia as our nanny in August 2015 (just before our fourth child was born, when our eldest was still 5) and left us to return home to England in July 2018. During that time, her base hours were 7.30-10am and 3-7.30pm Monday to Friday, but she often worked additional hours as requested including evenings and weekends.

Our house is an extremely busy one (with the children participating in piano, chess, Girl Guides, netball, soccer, swimming, gymnastics, art and endless playdates) and Lucy made it run like a dream. In the mornings, she would help get the children up, fed, dressed and taken to school. In the afternoons, she would collect them from school, cook dinner for them, bath them, read to them and put them to bed, but she did so much more than this. She taught them games, craft, face painting, sewing, dress ups, helped them with their homework, piano practice, rode bikes with them, toilet trained, climbed trees with them, disciplined them and diffused tantrums. On top of all this, our house was always spotless and the children completely and utterly enveloped with love.

Lucy would often mind all four of our children on her own and was equally adept at dealing with unsettled newborns, Terrible Twos and strong-willed tweens. As we entertain regularly, she also cared for many of our children’s friends in our home with great aplomb – in this regard she made us the envy of many local families. She helped us host innumerable gatherings and several larger parties each year – in April we hosted a birthday party for 130 people (70 of whom were young children) in a local park. Lucy made it look like a breeze.

Together Lucy and I would take the children on weekly outings (these outings became daily during school holidays) to a myriad of playgrounds, the Australian Museum, plays at the Sydney Opera House, exhibitions at the Art Gallery of New South Wales, countless beaches and many cultural events such as the Vivid light festival around the Sydney Harbour foreshore. We snorkelled, we scooted, we hiked and we picnicked all over Sydney – the children had an absolute ball. I could not have managed any of this without Lucy and I am immensely grateful that we shared these many happy times together.

Lucy is cheerfully, constantly industrious. She’s infectiously optimistic and easily finds solutions to problems as they arise. She is immensely capable, confident and calm under pressure. She is incredibly warm and bubbly and is sorely missed by us all, but also by the wider community. The children’s teachers often ask after her and were extremely keen to employ her had they had the opportunity to do so.

Lucy became such an integral member of our family it was very difficult for us to let her go, but we wish her well with all her future endeavours and know we will stay in touch.

Please contact me if I can provide any further information.

Many thanks,
Amber Cleary

+61 409 884 011
"
Reference Received from: Richard Stonehouse

Reference:

"Lucy looked after our 22 month old for 3 days in early January 2019. She stepped in last minute after another company were unable able to provide care due to illness.

Lucy was absolutely fantastic with Freddie, he loved spending time with her. Lucy was prompt and always ready to start the day to allow us to enjoy our holiday. She regularly updated us via text.

Lucy bought along equipment and toys each day for Freddie to play with, and took Freddie out daily to local play area and to play in snow. Lucy took photos and sent them to us.

I would highly recommend Lucy and would look to use her again if ever travelling to the local area.

Thanks again for everything

Regards,
Richard Stonehouse Meribel, January 2019
"