« Return to Home

Lisa Johnston

About Me

Name:Lisa Johnston
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:17 December 1987
Languages Spoken: English
Dutch
German
Resorts I can work in: Ski Arlberg
CRB Check:01 Jun 2012

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

Hello!

My name is Lisa Johnston, aged 25 and from Scotland!

I have been working abroad and traveling for more than 3 years now and have experienced many different cultures and surroundings! I love Winter season and this will be my 4th this year.

I have included a lot of my childcare experience below but I will of course be happy to answer any other questions you may have for me.

I have also a lot customer service experience as I have worked as sales person, in shops, in hospitality, as an underwater photographer etc..

My hobbies are skiing, swimming, scuba diving, reading, going out for dinners with friends, shopping, traveling and socialising.

I love Winter season clearly - I also love children, so for me this seems like the obvious choice :)

I really look forward to hearing back from you and hopefully getting the chance to work together! :)
Qualifications:

BA Fashion Marketing Degree
Emergency First Response Instructor for Infants, Children and Adults
Padi Scuba Diving Instructor
Currently studying towards my TEFL course online
Experience:

I worked as a live in au pair in Austria last year to a little 3 year old girl that spoke zero English when I came. She learned a lot and could understand and even speak a little by the time I was leaving! I was so happy with her achievements. We would play together, do arts and crafts, ski, swim, bake etc etc..

I worked as a nanny during the Summer to a family of pro athletes so we were continuously moving for the whole Summer, so I had to constantly adapt to a new environment whilst keeping the kids within a routine. It was a little boy of 4 and a baby of just 2 months (Their ages when I started the position). We would go to the park, for walks, read many, many books and role play games.

I was also a nanny to twin 4 year old girls in Istanbul where we drew a lot of pictures, did puzzles, sang and danced a lot and acted very girly!

I worked in a 4 star Austrian hotel within a ski resort in a Mini Club. Sole charge with any number of children (the most was 15 and it was for an entire day as their was a wedding in the hotel), of any age group (from new born to age 15) and many different nationalities (including Russian, German, Dutch, Spanish, French...)! I regularly had children that could not speak English but this was never a problem.

I have worked as a skiing videographer within a ski resort and helped out the ski school with the smallest kids during the peak season weeks. This means helping the kids to ski, have a good time, not miss their parents to much and make them want to come back the next day!

I have worked abroad for 3 and a half years+ now and I have always taken on extra freelance work as a 'nanny' for either a couple of hours or for the duration of a family's holiday. I have always received a lot of praise for this and enjoy meeting new children all the time as they all have such different interests and personalities.

I have also of course looked after the children of friends and family throughout my younger years.

I also volunteered once per week with my local Girl Guides Association and would do different activities with them every week.

I worked for 10 weeks last Summer in Malawi, one of the poorest countries in the world as a volunteer for Progressio charity. We worked within villages on a ground level. Our projects were about sustainable farming, working with HIV/Aids groups and Orphanages and village self run schools. We also helped another orphanage in our spare time after work.

My References

SELECT *,DATE_FORMAT(ReferenceReceived, '%e %M %Y, %l:%i%p') as RefTime FROM `cms_users_nanny_references` where ReferenceUser='1309' AND ReferenceStatus=1 AND ReferencePublished=1 ORDER BY ReferenceID DESC
Reference Received from: Brian Mirfin

Reference:

"To whom it may concern,
Lisa Johnston worked for us during the summer of 2015 for 2 months in Santa Ponsa, Mallorca.
She worked with our 2 year old Brianna and I would be happy to recommend her to any future families particularly when there is an educational focus needed. We, my wife and I want our daughter to of course have someone to play with, make play dough shapes and sing songs etc.. But our primary focus is to utilise these first precious years when her capacity to learn is at its highest by taking the time to explain everything to her, teach, show and be good role models.
We felt that this was something Lisa did well and did not need encouragement for. She would go through our flash cards on the human body, animals, insects, advanced colours etc. She made learning fun by singing the days of the week songs, using books and pictures and different mediums such as paint or the blackboard to hold Brianna's attention - whilst still exposing her to new vocabulary and ideas.
We felt comfortable leaving Brianna in Lisa's care at home and in our surrounding area when they went for walks. Brianna was very quickly, happy to be alone with Lisa and we felt it was a good match.
We would have taken Lisa on for longer however this was a temporary arrangement whilst we waited for our previous nanny to join us from Australia.
This was a live out arrangement which required flexibility from Lisa - something she was happy to do. We needed her in the mornings until Brianna's nap and then she was free to go until we would message her to come back once Brianna was awake. This was not always predictable but the system worked well anyway. Lisa would work 5 days per week and 8 hours per day, with Lisa living in our nanny apartment only a 5 minute walk away.

Should anyone need any further clarification or verification of this reference, do please send me an email or call me on the following numbers.
Yours Sincerely
Brian Mirfin
Tel: +34 670 290 755 Email: brian@starflyer.com
"