« Return to Home

Jo Greenwood

About Me

Name:Jo Greenwood
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:5 June 1984
Languages Spoken: English
French
Resorts I can work in: Paradiski
CRB Check:01 Oct 2017

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

Hi, my name is Joanna and I am a 33 year old English mummy of two boys living in La Plagne, Plagne Centre. I came here over 11 years ago to work for an English Tour Operator during a winter ski season. This is when I met my other half and fell in love with the mountains.
Afterwards, I worked for a ski & snowboard school, starting as a receptionist and working my way to a marketing role. In 2016 I set up as an freelance winter sport marketing consultant. I currently work part time as my youngest is still too young for me to go back to work full time.
I love children and I know how difficult it is to find confident English speaking childcare while on holiday in La Plagne. I am here to help!
If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact me.
Qualifications:

I graduated from university in 2005 with a 2.1 Bachelor of Arts degree in Film and Performance studies.
In 2007 I also gained a TEFL certificate while teaching English to children aged between 5 and 14 years old in the Sacred Valley in Peru.
I am now a independent marketing professional living in La Plagne, France, studying an online CIM certificate in Professional Marketing.
I have also completed my French PSC1 (French first aid equivalent course) on the 16th October 2017.
Experience:

I am a mother of two boys, my eldest being 6 years old and my youngest is just over 16 months.
I have a very large French/ bilingual family based in La Plagne and have been surrounded by children since I arrived here, just over 11 years ago.
On a regular basis our family home has lots of children playing around, including cousins, next door neighbours and family friends.
I am confident with all ages of children and can find and adapt activities easily.
My youngest child has allergies to milk, eggs and nuts and must have medication/ an epipen near by at all times. Therefore, in case your child has allergies, and in case of an emergency, I am comfortable following medical procedures.
As mentioned above I have had previous experience teaching English to Peruvian children. Depending on their ages, class sizes would range between 15 and 30 children.
In the past, I have also looked after a Lunch Club for a local ski school where children would range between 3 and 12 years old. I also helped the ski school out in their snow garden, picking up, comforting and taking children to the toilet, if needed.

My References

Reference Received from: Olivia Valentine

Reference:

"Jo has looked after my girls (now 6 and 7yrs ) many times over the years. The girls love the variety of activities she offers and always enjoy their time with her. Jo is a very trustworthy and professional mother who has the well being of the child always on her mind, I highly recommend her services."
Reference Received from: Sarah Plassard-Perry

Reference:

"Jo has looked after my son Néo fairly regularly since he was a baby. He is now nearly 5 and loves it when he knows he's going to Jo's to play or for tea. I trust her implicitly with his care. She is incredibly kind, thoughtful, fair and loving with him. There is just the right amount of strictness so that he comes back to me in a fantastic state of mind! Jo is the first person I go to if I need someone to look after my little boy. I like the way she does things and Néo loves her to bits."
Reference Received from: Jane Harvey

Reference:

"I just wanted to say how fantastic Jo was. She obviously loves being around children and is so kind and caring. Every day she brought or organised different activities that kept our four year old very happy. When needed she was brilliant with our older children (10 and 7) and was incredibly flexible in meeting all our needs. I would highly recommend Jo to any family.

Jane Harvey
La Plagne
April 2018
"
Reference Received from: MaryKate Edwards

Reference:

"Jo was absolutely brilliant. We had a wonderful time and much of this was due to Jo being so proactive, knowledgeable and lovely. Florence our nearly 3 year old settled really well with Jo and had lots of fun. It also worked well that Jo brought her youngest child to play on a couple of occasions. Overall a huge success and we would definitely book Jo again!

Best wishes
Marykate Edwards
La Plagne
April 2018
"