« Return to Home

Ellen Howard

About Me

Name:Ellen Howard
Sex:Female
D.O.B.:14 July 1997
Languages Spoken: English
Resorts I can work in: Portes de Soleil
CRB Check:01 Nov 2019

Experience & Qualifications

Introduction:

Hi, my name is Ellie, I am 23 years old with a love of the mountains and all things in the snow. I am a fun loving and hard working individual who is able to relate to people of all ages from all backgrounds. I have a wide variety of work experience including 7 years of hospitality working in several bars and restaurants. I am passionate about food, having completed a degree in Nutrition and worked in a variety of roles across the food industry. I love to cook so would be very happy preparing food for your little ones! This is my first season in Morzine however I have been skiing here since I was 11 so know the Portes du Soleil area very well. I have looked after many children of all ages having started babysitting 9 years ago. I was a ski instructor in New Zealand in 2019 and worked in the kids club therefore I am very used to entertaining children in the mountains and would be very happy (and qualified) to take them skiing if desired. If you would like to know any more about me then please get in contact!
Qualifications:

I have recently graduated from Newcastle University where I studied a 4 year degree in Food and Human Nutrition (BSc 1st class hons). I am spending the winter season in Morzine. I have previously done a winter season in Chamonix where a learnt conversational French whilst working in a bar. I am also a qualified ski instructor and have taught in New Zealand where I mainly worked in the kids club, teaching children aged 3-18 as well as adults therefore I am a very patient person who is used to creating a fun and safe environment in the snow. I have also done several basic first aid courses as part of my instructor training and in a variety of other jobs. At university I worked as a student ambassador where I was regularly responsible for guiding groups of children through various activities and also received yearly Child protection training. Before university I was a regular babysitter for two teachers and looked after their 8 year old son every Saturday and their 11 year old son for many evenings. I also babysat for other families whilst I was at school. During university I also tutored English to two boys (aged 4 and 8) from Saudi Arabia and also taught GCSE English and Maths.
Experience:

I regularly child minded several children including girls of 2,7,10,13 and boys of 7,10,11,13 and have tutored several others.
As a student ambassador at university I led many groups of up to 10 young students around campus tours and activities around the university and was responsible for their safety and enjoyment, they ranged in age from 7-17.
As a ski instructor I had groups of varying ages and sizes. I would be single handidly responsible for the safety and welfare of children aged 3-16 in groups of up to 10.
I have two nieces aged 2 and 7 who I regularly take care of. The eldest is autistic which has given me valuable experience in understanding the needs of different children.

My References

Reference Received from: Alice Kendall

Reference:

"Ellen is fantastic at looking after and interacting with children; she is kind and understanding and always patient when conversing with our girls (2 and 8). She has always been a reliable, trustworthy, childminder who has helped us out on many occasions with our two girls. She provides fun filled activities, including trips to the park and arts and crafts; along with ensuring nutritional snacks and meals are provided if necessary."